top of page

Music & Philosophy

  1. FADE IN


  2. Act 1


  3. EXT. SWIMMING POOL, KOWLOON PARK - 16:15


  4. PETER appears.


  5. PETER (V.O.): Today, the indoor pool is closed.


  6. Peter looks around.


  7. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Oh, there're two external pools here - a lower one and an upper one.


  8. Peter enters the lower one.


  9. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): I come here as I've just gone to a ticketing centre nearby to buy tickets of a Saturday concert.


  10. Peter begins to swim.


  11. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Earlier, a conductor advised me of her conducting schedules 2023-2024.


  12. Swimming past other SWIMMERS.


  13. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Although I haven't committed, I'm prepared to give her my little support.

  14. Act 2


  15. EXT. SWIMMING POOL, KOWLOON PARK - CONTINUOUS


  16. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): I've no formal musical education and training. I'm not interested in classical music.


  17. Swimming.


  18. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): I'm only fond of listening to oldies - a desire to feel nostalgic.


  19. Swimming.


  20. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Trying to be creative, I compose my own raw-but-real songs and make my rough MVs.


  21. Swimming past an artificial waterfall.


  22. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd): I don't promote my own music; and I've many unfinished or unpublished songs.


  23. Swimming.


  24. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): If I'm to hold a concert, I've more than enough original songs to fill up the set list.


  25. Pausing.


  26. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): But who'd care to listen to an unglamorous old man's numbers?


  27. Swimming.


  28. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Music isn't a biological necessity for survival. People can live without music.


  29. Leaving the pool, Peter walks up to the upper one.


  30. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Yesterday, a newspaper article about the philosophical thoughts of Arthur Schopenhauer triggered my interest to understand the philosopher more.


  31. Swimming.


  32. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Schopenhauer argues that the Will is the ultimate reality and that all things in the world are the manifestations of the Will.


  33. Swimming.


  34. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Schopenhauer also argues that human beings are fundamentally irrational and that our actions are driven by our desires and emotions.


  35. Swimming.


  36. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): On morality, Schopenhauer argues that compassion is its foundation and we'd strive to alleviate the suffering of others.


  37. Swimming.


  38. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): On art, Schopenhauer argues that it's a means to transcend the limitations of the individual self and connect with the universal Will.


  39. Thinking.


  40. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Again, philosophy isn't a biological necessity for survival. People can live without philosophy.


  41. Reflecting.


  42. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): When I was young, I first had a taste of popular music and then philosophy.


  43. Pausing.


  44. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Philosophy was dear to my heart and I insisted to get my first degree in Philosophy before developing a legal career.


  45. Reflecting.


  46. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Having done law for decades, I think it's high time I'd return to my music and philosophy.


  47. Pausing.


  48. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): I feel the part of life I really live is small.


  49. We hear a public announcement: ...the pool will be closing in 15 minutes...


  50. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Why don't I make MVs of my unfinished songs that are capable of conveying emotions and meanings philosophically?


  51. Act 3


  52. EXT. SWIMMING POOL, KOWLOON PARK - LATER


  53. In the lower pool, Peter is swimming directly under artificial waterfall.


  54. PETER (V.O.): Both music and philosophy are forms of human expression of complex ideas.


  55. As the water on the way hits rocks, we hear melodic sounds.


  56. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Music is a way to inquire the nature of human experience. Philosophy is a way to inquire the nature of everything.


  57. Peter leaves.


  58. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Through music and philosophy, we can gain insights of the human condition and the way in which we relate to the world around us.


  59. FADE OUT


  60. THE END








Comments


bottom of page