top of page

Certainty in Uncertainty

  1. FADE IN


  2. Act 1


  3. INT. LIVING ROOM - 08:15


  4. Appearing, PETER sees his WIFE, in cosy pajamas, immersing in a Korean drama on TV.


  5. PETER (V.O): Still staying awake?


  6. Observing.


  7. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd): Her eyes still sparkle with excitement from the plot twists.


  8. Observing.


  9. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd): She's always emotionally invested in the characters and their uncertain journeys.


  10. Pausing.


  11. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd): As a retiree now, it's certain that she can indulge herself in any way she wants. I won't interrupt.


  12. Kaji, the family pet, is staring at Peter with her expressive eyes.


  13. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd): She anticipates having breakfast with me shortly.


  14. Act 2


  15. INT. STUDY - 12:00


  16. Peter is working before a Surface laptop.


  17. PETER (V.O): I'm drafting my decision on disputed domain names, learning word processing of a non-Microsoft software.


  18. Pausing.


  19. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd): Before I issue my decision, neither the complainant nor the respondent can be certain about the outcome.


  20. INT. DINING ROOM - 15:00


  21. A delicate box of Dragon Beard Candy from Peninsula Hotel on the table. Peter and his wife begin to sample some.


  22. PETER: Wow, it's light and rich. I've never had such nice candy.


  23. WIFE: A burst of flavour fills my mouth instantly!


  24. PETER: The proof is in the tasting!


  25. Hearing mobile notification tones, Peter checks them.


  26. PETER: More relatives have advised on their participation of our elder daughter's wedding banquet in Hong Kong.


  27. Pausing.


  28. PETER (Cont'd): It's now certain that even those travelling a lot wouldn't join the wedding banquet in Busan.


  29. EXT. SILVERSTRAND BAY - 17:00


  30. Arriving at the empty beach, Peter sees a red flag flying.


  31. PETER (V.O): Red flag again?


  32. Taking out a cyber-green float from a carrier bag, Peter blows it.


  33. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd): If I get into trouble, I'm not certain if this float can save me.


  34. Peter begins to swim.


  35. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd): Uncertainty may be the only certainty, and in a world of uncertainty, everything is possible.


  36. INT. LIVING ROOM - 18:30


  37. Returning, Peter sees his wife who is now very busy. She passes some documents to him to read.

  38.  

  39. WIFE: These are the information that we've been waiting for...


  40. PETER: Good, we've certainty in uncertainty now. At least, we don't need to worry about possible clashes of travelling schedules.


  41. INT. STUDY - 19:30


  42. Peter is staring at the Sony Vaio in front of him.


  43. PETER (V.O): How can I make this 10-year-old thing work?


  44. Referring to some texts on his mobile screen, Peter clicks on "Setting", then "Recovery", then "Advanced startup", and then "Restart Now".


  45. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd): And after re-starting, I'd select "Troubleshoot", then "Advanced options", then "Startup Settings" then "Restart" and then press "F4" for "Safe Mode"


  46. As Peter does his clicking, we see the option boxes appearing sequentially. But after his hitting "F4", all we can see is a black screen.


  47. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd): Is doing nothing the "Safe Mode"?


  48. Recalling.


  49. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd): After posting my 10th post of the month tonight, I'd have exhausted my quota.


  50. Thinking.


  51. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd): I'm not certain what I'd do - suspending my publications, yielding to the upgrade demand of wix.com, or switching to a near-substitute?


  52. Act 3


  53. INT. LIVING ROOM - 22:00


  54. Peter inserts an AI drawing entitled "Certainty in Uncertainty..." to a draft in his Surface.


  55. PETER (V.O): Many people experience uncertainty in various aspects of life. For me, I don't find uncertainty fascinating.


  56. Thinking.


  57. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd): Anyhow, even in uncertain situations such as relationship, technology, and personal growth, there can be moments of clarity and assurance.


  58. Reflecting.


  59. PETER (V.O) (Cont'd):  My wife and I yearn for clarity amidst confusion. In overcoming challenges, we thrive through collaboration, adaptability and creativity.


  60. FADE OUT


  61. THE END


Comentarios


bottom of page