top of page

As Night Follows Day

  1. FADE IN


  2. Act 1


  3. INT. STUDY - 22:00 (THE NIGHT BEFORE)


  4. PETER is watching a TV documentary.


  5. PETER (V.O.): It's about serious accident investigations.


  6. Watching.


  7. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Those who have lived to tell their stories see what really matters to them.


  8. Recalling.


  9. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Over 30 years ago, a Philosophy professor-friend suggested that I might develop a thesis on Philosophy of Death.


  10. Recalling.


  11. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Before I made up my mind, the friend refuted his suggestion as it wouldn't do me good on the non-philosophical front.


  12. Pausing.


  13. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): I accepted that it wasn't a healthy way to promote my sense of well-being then.


  14. Act 2


  15. EXT. ROADS TO HONG KONG - 09:15


  16. At the passenger seat, Peter watches his wife driving a New Beetle.


  17. PETER (V.O.): Instead of imagining her arriving the office safely, I'd better witness that when I can afford to do so.


  18. EXT. STANLEY BAY - 11:15


  19. Arriving, Peter surveys the bay water and the faraway floating platforms.


  20. PETER (V.O.): The sky is grey but the sea is calm. I won't take the current condition for granted.


  21. Peter swims towards one floating platform.


  22. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): In the TV documentary, a woman lost her survival instinct after about 80 minutes in the sea.


  23. Swimming past a lifeguard raft, Peter arrives at the platform. He grabs the ladder to climb up.


  24. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): On previous occasions, I didn't make it my target as the water was rough and I didn't want to get drowned.


  25. Lying flat on the floating platform, Peter is in thoughts.


  26. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): I don't know when my time will arrive. But it's inevitable as night follows day.


  27. MONTAGE OF PETER'S THOUGHTS


  28. A. Pottery scene from the film "Ghost". A banker and an artist are madly in love.

  29. B. The banker is murdered and is left to roam around as a powerless spirit. He knows the challenge the artist has to face.


  30. C. Having resolved the challenge, the banker's spirit is revealed to the artist and they share a final kiss.

  31. END MONTAGE


  32. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): True love and ghosts are seen in the 1990 film "Ghost".


  33. Pausing.


  34. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): The inner innocence in me loves to believe the story is reality.


  35. Pondering.


  36. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): If I fantasize the remainder of my life now as my afterlife, would I love my loved ones more and deliver more value to all?


  37. Pausing.


  38. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Definitely! I don't need to have any near-death experience to be enlightened.


  39. INT. TOM LEE MUSIC - 14:00


  40. Pianos section. Peter tests the keyboards by playing the intro of "Theme from a Summer Place".


  41. PETER (V.O.): The quality is better but the price is like those over 30 years ago.


  42. Pausing.


  43. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): And music is like a type of spirit that never dies.


  44. INT. STUDIO - 18:00


  45. Peter is learning to play the Beatles' song "Free as a Bird".


  46. PETER (V.O.): This Beatles' song was released in 1995, 15 years after John Lennon was killed.


  47. Pausing.


  48. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): And if I want to be as free as a bird, I've got to give up everything that weighs me down.


  49. Pausing.


  50. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): And to settle where I will; but not rest in peace.


  51. Act 3


  52. INT. STUDY - 20: 00


  53. PETER is again watching the TV documentary.


  54. PETER (V.O.): Let me embrace life, death and the possible forever now.


  55. Pausing.


  56. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): There's nothing more rewarding than fantasizing to live my afterlife now.


  57. Pausing.


  58. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Attitude and result follow one another. Let me recreate all that into a grand love song, telling the wonderful story of life.


  59. FADE OUT


  60. THE END































Kommentare


bottom of page