top of page

Dust in the Wind

  1. FADE IN


  2. Act 1


  3. EXT. STUDIO - 10:15


  4. Smartphone in hand, PETER checks a Quora notification.


  5. PETER (V.O.): Oh, a Quoran has shared one of my posts.


  6. Checking his Quora statistics.


  7. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Thousands of Quorans are still viewing my posts every month.


  8. Pausing.


  9. APETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): And I still get upvotes.


  10. Pausing.


  11. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): But since Feb 19, 2023, I've stopped contributing in Quora. I think I've contributed a lot, I'd leave the rest to AI Chatbots.


  12. Thinking.


  13. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): I hope my 11.2 k answers in Quora are timeless.


  14. Act 2


  15. FLASHBACK


  16. INT. RESTAURANT - DAY (YESTERDAY)


  17. Peter is having dim sums with a LADY and a GENTLEMEN.


  18. PETER: Time flies. We've formally retired for over nine years.


  19. LADY: Since this year, my husband and I have been travelling overseas once every two months.


  20. PETER: For the past eight months, my wife and I have managed to travel together monthly.


  21. LADY: The other day, our common friend asked me to help establish a social start-up. Would you be interested to take care of the legal side of it?


  22. PETER: I do give priority to voluntary work over my professional work. But I've a lot on my plate.


  23. LADY: But would you consider?


  24. PETER: No, my time is running short. I'd only do things that no one would do - like writing and publishing screenplays daily.


  25. END FLASHBACK


  26. Peter reads stories of philosophers.


  27. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Descartes, the father of modern Western philosophy, earned a law degree in 1616. He died in 1650 at the age of 53.

  28. Pausing.


  29. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): In my 20s, I meant to become a philosopher, but I took up law after getting my BA in Philosophy in 1981.


  30. Reading.


  31. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Rousseau argued the music is the first form of human language and it played a crucial role in the development of human culture and society. He died in 1778 at the age of 66.


  32. Pausing.


  33. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): I'm 69 now. I'm wise enough to support his arguments.


  34. Reading.


  35. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Kant thought that music was a form of aesthetic experience that had the power to evoke powerful emotions and connect individuals to a higher realm of consciousness. He died in 1809 at the age of 79.


  36. Pausing.


  37. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Kant adhered to his routines strictly and took philosophical work as his duty and calling.


  38. Reading.


  39. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Schopenhauer believed that the pain of desire is inherent in human existence. A temporary way to escape from it is through aesthetic contemplation. He played the flute during his whole life. He died in 1860 at the age of 72.


  40. Pausing.


  41. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): A flute has many holes, but it can generate great melodies. I haven't played my flute for many months.


  42. Reading.


  43. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Nietzsche believed that music is the highest form of art. And it had the power to transform humans. He died in 1900 at the age of 55.


  44. Thinking.


  45. PPETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): In my opinion, living a good life is the highest form of art. Through experiential learning, humans can create and deliver value to all.


  46. Pausing.


  47. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Humans should reflect more on the nature of art, of life and of the relationship between art and life.


  48. Pausing.


  49. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): In the autumn-winter of my life, my private practice is time-wasting.


  50. We see Peter taking a look of an AI drawing, depicting a white-haired man next to the portrait of an aspiring young man.


  51. Act 3


  52. INT. STUDIO - CONTINUOUS


  53. We hear soft rock music from speakers.


  54. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): Nothing is permanent in this world, not even troubles.


  55. We hear the lyrics:... All we do, crumbles to the ground, though we refuse to see.


  56. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): As I still have time to love and to leave a legacy, I'd make the most of it.


  57. We continue to hear: Dust in the wind. All we're is just dust in the wind.


  58. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd): When I'm nothing, may what I do now echoes in eternity.


  59. FADE OUT


  60. THE END

























Comments


bottom of page