top of page

Will To Power


FADE IN.

INT. STUDY - DAY

Focusing on his computer screen, Peter checks and edits a draft.

PETER (V.O.)

Done! I plan to finish

my assignment in the

early afternoon so

that those supporting

me can go home

early.

Relaxing on the sofa, Peter researches with his phone.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

What drives humans

to use their force to

destroy, rather than

to use their strength to

create?

TV. Road barricades. At a blocked access point, a JOURNALIST interviews a masked MAN in black.

JOURNALIST

...How do you think

it will end?

MAN

Hmm...

PETER (V.O.)

He's mindless.

FLASHBACK

EXT. VILLAGE HUTS - DAY (1964)

Having made toy guns with lollipop sticks, Peter (10) and a BOY (11) fires his rubber bands at each other.

END FLASHBACK

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

I only played games

when I was a kid. At

15, I've to earn a living,

selling my cheap labour

in a hotel.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

I learned how to

provide service and

aspired to make a

difference one day.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Initially, I worked on

Sundays and holidays.

From 17-19, I worked

from 4pm-11pm during

weekdays too. Then,

I did my home work. I

didn't have spare

energy.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

But when I found I

didn't have a "why" to

live, I began to study

philosophy by myself.

INT. CLASSROOM - DAY (1971)

Peter (17) is discussing with a CLASSMATE (17).

PETER

You study philosophy?

The classmate nods proudly.

PETER (Cont'd)

Tell me something

about it?

The classmate shows a handwritten note on a book.

CLASSMATE

It's quote from Friedrich

Nietzsche - a German

Philosopher.

The classmate reads a quote.

PETER

I don't get it. I can't

even pronounce the

philosopher's name.

END FLASHBACK

PETER (V.O.)(Cont'd)

His concept of "will to

power" is said to have

inspired Adolf Hitler

and other fascists.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

He doesn't elaborate

his concept; as everything,

including facts, is subject

to interpretations.

Peter surfs the web with his phone.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Here's one quote from

him: Insanity from

individuals is something

rare - but in groups,

parties, nations and

epochs, it is the rule.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

He's that observant

and insightful!

INT. CHA CHAAN TENG - DAY

Crowded. Peter shares a table with a GROUP dressed in working-class outfits.

PETER (V.O.)

Here's a normal group.

I believe they've to

provide for their

families.

INT. STUDY - DAY

Focusing on the computer screen, Peter types and types.

PETER (V.O.)

Some people have

to be creative. Let

me do it!

FADE OUT. The End

bottom of page