top of page

Peter 2:16


FADE IN.

INT. UNIVERSITY CAMPUS - DAY

Sunny. PETER drives past a drop gate.

PETER (V.O.) I'd have appeared in

court today, but I chose

to do volunteering work

here as it's more soulful

for me.

Having parked his car, Peter walks up to a building.

PETER (V.O.)(Cont'd)

I've been working since

15. I've only contributed

to Hong Kong in a small

way.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.)(Cont'd)

I know things don't

come easy. There's

no way I can gain the

world. I just continue

to create and deliver

value.

INT. CONFERENCE ROOM - DAY

Dozens of LADIES and GENTLEMEN, transacting businesses.

Time: 0945. Peter speaks.

Time: 1445. Peter speaks.

Meeting ends.

PETER (V.O.)

Well, time well spent.

INT. CLUBHOUSE - NIGHT

Reading a newspaper column, Peter raises an eye brow.

PETER (V.O.)

What is this? Peter 2.16...

I see. It's from the Bible.

FLASHBACK

INT. COLLEGE - DAY (1969)

Holding a booklet, a WOMAN TEACHER (20s) is speaking very fast. Peter (15), in school uniform, isn't attentive.

PETER (V.O.)

She's just repeating what

is recorded in the Bible in

her way. I can read it and

analyze the stories myself.

But for this religious college,

I wouldn't need to study

Bible at all!

END FLASHBACK

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Of all the subjects I sat

in the public examinations

later, I just got a bare

pass in Bible. I suspected

I answered the questions

rationally, rather than

religiously.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

At home, my family

has been worshiping

local gods - don't know

who they really are.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

In my primary school

days, I learned about

the Buddha. In my

secondary school days,

Mother Mary.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Later, in social-domestic

circles, I picked up Jesus

Christ, Joseph Smith,

Jehovah's Witnesses,

and Children of God.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

When I began to question

the meaning of life and

decided to study Philosophy,

One optional paper I took

was Philosophy of Religion.

Pausing,

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

After years of studying

and analyzing, I concluded

that God has many names

and that people believe in

different religions is due

to cultural relativism.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Having scored a distinction

in that paper in my BA

in Philosophy (Lond), I've

also become an agnostic-

unknowing the existence

or non-existence of gods.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

In my experiential learning

most religions teach

people to be good and

not to let loose their evilness.

INT. STUDY - NIGHT

Peter types "Peter 2:16" on his phone screen and searches. The result reads as follows: Live as free people, but do not use your freedom as a cover-up for evil...

PETER (V.O.)

That sounds good, but

for the direction in the

end.

We see on the phone screen:...live as God's slaves.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Slavery? When I was young,

I'd readily disagree. That

might well be why I didn't

do well in my Bible exam.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

For the past several months,

I've heard and seen some

Hongkongers, particularly

the young, have used their

freedom as a cover-up for

their evil and have become

slaves of their evil religions.

Peter sighs.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Whenever evil is their minds,

they can switch to good by

thinking and doing good.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

They don't need to study

Bible or philosophy, just

use some basic common

sense will do!

FADE OUT. THE END

bottom of page