top of page

Self-Transcendence


FADE IN:

INT. CLUBHOUSE - DAY

Skimming through a newspaper, PETER stops at a photo featuring a father and his 23-month daughter lying face down in muddy waters along a river bank. His daughter is tucked inside his father's T-shirt and with her arm wrapped around his father's neck.

PETER (V.O.)

(Moved)

They daughter clung to

his Dad until her final

moment. Staying put in

El Savador seemed not

an option for the father

and he wanted to chase

his American dream...

EXT. ROAD - DAY

Sitting in the driver seat, Peter listens to the car radio. An anchor reports that: she resurfaces again in a photo...quoting...people thought that I'd "die", but with the staunch support ...I won't "die"...

PETER (V.O.)

(Frustrated)

Hong Kong has become

ungovernable and she

is still thinking about herself.

It was power and glory, now

is powerless and shame!

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.)

One resonating message

I got from my Harvard

professors on leadership is

to retire gracefully if the

circumstances warrant.

MONTAGE OF PETER'S ENCOUNTER WITH A COLLEAGUE IN THE 1990s.

A. After a meeting, a COLLEAGUE (32) continues to discuss with Peter concerning intellectual property (IP) legal policy issues.

B. The colleague calls Peter several times a day to discuss IP legal policy matters.

C. IP Bills tabled are passed by the Legislature.

D. For six months, the colleague has stopped connecting with Peter.

E. Then Peter learns from the newspapers that the colleague has hung himself at home.

F. Peter attends the colleagues funeral and hears that the colleagues chooses to end his life due to work pressure.

END MONTAGE

.

PETER (V.O.) He was a first-class honour

Cambridge graduate and

an Administrative Officer.

After our collaboration,

he was transferred to

another policy bureau at

a higher position - a junior

directorate.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Even if he couldn't deliver,

killing himself was totally

disproportionate. He could

have quit the job and re-start

again, given his good

potential and qualities.

INT. STUDY - DAY

Peter works on his computer.

PETER (V.O.)

I didn't think about death

until 1992. My first wife

and I were too busy to

equip ourselves that we

took life for granted. The

silent cancer ended her

life and our marriage in

six months.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.)

For living things, death

is certain. What and

why do we live for?

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Pleasure aside, do we

need to be satisfied that

there's meaning in our

lives?

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Further, are we just one

among the many as a

species. Do our individual

thoughts and actions make

a difference?

Pausing.

PETER(V.O.) (Cont'd)

Are we true to ourselves?

Who am I after all? What

exactly constitutes my

individual self?

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

I ponder more often such

issues now, especially when I'm out of town.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Meanwhile, my goal is to

continue to create, tell my

my stories and share my

feelings in my creative

works and publish my stuff

to the world.

FLASHBACK

INT. INTERVIEWING ROOM - DAY (1980)

Peter (25) is being interviewed by a 3-member Panel with name plates in front of them. Their ranks are Principal Land Executive, Chief Land Executive and Senior Land Executive. Looking at Peter's CV dismissively, the Chief Land Executive questions Peter crossly.

CHIEF LAND EXECUTIVE

You study Logic? What's

that all about?

PETER

It's reasoning according to

strict principles of validity...

The panel looks bewildered.

PETER (Cont'd)

I give a simple example of

deductive logic. The

major premise is "All men

are mortal." The minor

premise is:"I'm a man."

The logical conclusion is:

"I'm mortal."

END FLASHBACK

PETER (V.O.)

I'm prepared that I may

not rise with the sun the next day.It's just a matter

of time. I'm just a negligible

part of a greater whole.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Having understood myself

and shared my thoughts

and feelings of human

development, I might be

able to achieve self-

transcendence, before

vanishing under the sun.

Peter checks a facebook notification.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

My younger daughter likes

my Happy Birthday song

to her!

Peter smiles.

FADE OUT. The End

bottom of page