top of page

Transcendental Beauty


FADE IN:

EXT. ROAD - DAY

PETER spots something on a wall from a distance.

PETER (V.O.)

It has eye-appeal to me.

He then examines the sight at close range and takes a photo of it.

INT. STUDY - NIGHT

Relaxing on a sofa watching TV, Peter thinks of something and goes to his work station.

PETER (V.O.)

Is life like a difficult exam?

People pass or fail because

of what? Answering multiple-

choice questions by chance

rather than by reason?

FLASHBACK

INT. SITTING ROOM - DAY

Holding Peter (5)'s hand, a caring AUNTIE (20s) writes Chinese characters for him.

PETER

(Naughtily)

I don't want to write!

I don't want to go to

school!

Hearing and seeing that Peter GRANDFA (50s) grips a chicken feather duster to beat him a few times as his auntie tries to protect him.

END FLASHBACK

PETER (V.O.)

It was uncharacteristic

of him as Grandfa was

a carefree person. But

I was his first grandson

in the Cheung family,

and he cared about my

character formation.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.)

My late Dad was never

concerned about education

as it had caused him

headaches. But he, like

Robinson Crusoe, could

invent household gadgets.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

My Mom would scold

the children for asking

to pay school fees. Even

now, she's still a money

hoarder. She worships

gods and our ancestors

and believes everything

would be OK.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Recently, I've examined

the criteria for applying for a care or protection order

under the Protection of

Child and Young Persons

Ord. I've also experienced

the practice and procedures

in juvenile courts. I then

recall what happened to

some of my peers in the

in the 1960s.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

My three younger

brothers also began

working when they're

very young. It's natural

that we didn't do well

in our exams. There're

also bad elements

around us. But we

never turned bad -

not even speaking any

foul language.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Perhaps, it's our free

will that enables us to

have our own values

and attitude in life.

Despite certain ups

and downs, I feel that,

we all score a good

pass if a good life is

hierarchical.

Peter inserts a photo to a blog post.

PETER (V.O.)

Is the photo worth

appreciating? I see the

random paper bits and

pieces, above or below

the groove, are just like

the ups and downs of

our ordinary life

experience. But if we

see life as a transcendental

plane and the groove is just

our ordinary classification

of what is good or bad,

then, we may be able to

appreciate the transcendental

beauty in its random

expression!

FADE OUT. The End

bottom of page