top of page

The Most Boring Day


FADE IN:

EXT. ROAD - DAY

Waiting at the driver seat, PETER listens to the radio.

PETER (V.O.) April 11, 1954 is the most boring day since the dawn of the 20th Century? The answer from a computer- answering machine, deploying knowledge base and semantic search engine software. That day, there wasn't any significant newsworthy events - notable births or deaths etc. Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd) I was only born weeks later. But lots of things must have happened in a day. INT. STUDY - DAY

Peter researches with his phone and finds some data.

PETER (V.O.) Here are the rough data of things that happen in a day: - 370,000 newborns; - 18,000,000 birthdays; and - 230,000,000 people will attempt to procreate! Pausing. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd) But all these won't be amazing without my: - 100,000 heartbeats; - 20,000 breaths; - 8,000 steps; and perhaps, 1 blog post. I create and recreate. Peter turns on his computer and begins working on it. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd) While emotions and feelings can't be measured, they're powerful enough to transform a person - can be very eventful to many people in a day. Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd) Would artificial intelligence and big data become so smart that they can predict the most eventful day to come? Like capturing other images of the deformed spacetime ie black holes? Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd) Even if that's probable, do we really want to know? For nature and scientific matters, why not? We can keep things under control or have something to look forward to. For relationships... Peter looks out of the window.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd) For living things, we're born, we grow and we consume - our time on Earth.

MONTAGE OF PETER NOT HAVING HIS OWN TIME

A/ Peter (15-19) works in hotels and restaurants B/ Peter (19-20) works as a teacher in a secondary school. C/ Peter (20-25) works in the field of housing management. D/Peter (25-26) works in the field of land administration. E/ Peter (31-37) works in the Attorney General's Chambers. F/Peter (38-59) works in the Intellectual Property Department.

END MONTAGE

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd) For over 41 years, I worked full-time. Not sure I lived to work or worked to live. So retirement at 60 was good. I began to have my own time.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd) I'd only do what I like. And I realize my time is more precious than before. Scarcity is the first lesson of economics. INT. SWIMMING POOL - DAY

Peter swims freestyle lap after lap, watching the pool clock when reaching the pool wall. He sees and we hear SWIMMER#1(89) talking to SWIMMER#2 (64).

SWIMMER#1 How old are you? I'm 89, born in 1930.

SWIMMER#2 I'm 64, born in 1955.

SWIMMER#1 I don't smoke or drink. I don't need any walking stick too. PETER (V.O.) Similar traits. What an eventful day for me to witness this first hand.

Peter begins another lap in the circular lane. PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd) Also, from the spacetime perspective, April 11, 1954 is no longer boring, as people including me have talked it, making it eventful after the fact.

Peter changes to backstrokes.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd) I believe the past, present and future exist simultaneously. Letting go our stubborn persistent illusion about time, we can make any boring day in the past such as April 11, 1954 eventful at the present ie April 11, 2019 or in the future. Peter gets out of the pool, looking refreshed.

FADE OUT. The End

bottom of page