top of page

The Utopian Concept


FADE IN:

EXT. ROAD - DAY

Waiting at the driver seat, PETER turns on the car radio. We hear some conversations about "Occupy Central" and "convictions". Peter switches to another channel, the same.

PETER (V.O.)

Although I'm indifferent

to politics, I'd follow

the stories for a while.

FLASHBACK

EXT. SCHOOL - DAY (1971)

Peter (17) reads a book on History.

PETER (V.O.)

Why Hong Kong Chinese

are ruled by the British?

Can't it become an entity

of its own? I'll write an

article about my belief

and publish it in the class

magazine.

END FLASHBACK

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

And I did. There wasn't

any feedback. Perhaps

those who had read it

were mature enough to

think that I was naive

and unrealistic.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Later, when I studied

Philosophy, one of the

papers I had selected

was Political Philosophy.

FLASHBACK

INT. STUDY - DAY (1977)

Reading a book entitled "Plato", Peter (23) is in deep thoughts.

PETER (V.O.)

I subscribe to Plato's concept

of "Philosopher King". How

nice would it be for the

governed if the person in

the highest authority is very intelligent, knowledgeable,

reliable, and is willing to

live a simple life.

END FLASHBACK

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

That was Plato's utopian

thought. Not realistic in

modern city entities, not

to mention regions and

countries. Stability in the

context of rule of law and

accountability is the key.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

But some of the governed

want change - not for the

better - but for the perfect,

right away. Conflicts

between government and

the governed are quite

inevitable.

As his WIFE gets inside the car, Peter drives off.

INT. STUDY - DAY

Checking his various devices, Peter looks for something.

PETER (V.O.)

I recall a photo I took in

Admiralty during the Occupy

Central period. Where did I

store the image?

Scrutinizing images on one of his phones, Peter looks delighted.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Here it is!

We see an image of a casually dressed Peter in the traffic-free Queensway, taking a selfie.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

It's just a snapshot taken

on Oct 7, 2014 at no costs

to me. If I wanted to take

one like that in an orderly

day, I can't afford to

compensate for Hong

Kong's economic and

social losses!

FLASHBACK

INT. HKU LAW LIBRARY - DAY (1981)

Peter (27) reads a book on Constitutional Law.

PETER (V.O.)

How can a revolution be

legal under a territory's

existing constitution?

No basic or ordinary laws

would permit that! At

the end of the day, it

isn't rule of law, but

rule by law actually!

INT. STUDY - DAY (1986)

Peter (32) studies volumes of International Law.

PETER (V.O.)

International law is no

more than power politics?

INT. STUDY - DAY (2003)

Watching TV, Peter (49) looks shocked.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

US and its allies invade

Iraq? Oh my God! Power

politics, rather than law, is at work.

END FLASHBACK

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

And the realistic first rule

in power politics in a peace-

loving fashion is counting

votes.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

I got fed up with lobbying

for votes to get Bills through.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Upon retirement, my

first rule of politics

is not to talk about

politics. I just live a

simple life - inciting

others to be good.

Peter takes another look of his selfie.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

I once daydreamt to

become a Philosopher

King. As I became less

naive, I've become less

convicted to the utopian

concept!

Peter retires to a sofa to take a nap.

FADE OUT. The End

bottom of page