top of page

The Person I Call "I"


FADE IN:

EXT. CHANGING ROOM - DAY

A wet-haired PETER looks at his image in a plane mirror.

PETER (V.O.)

Having swum over 1000

meters, I look natural.

INT. LECTURE THEATER - DAY

Peter sits at a back row on a far side. A SPEAKER (40s) speaks.

SPEAKER

In addition to our natural

appearance, a person's identity

can be constructive...

FLASHBACK

INT. STUDY - DAY

PETER checks a phone message. We see:"My brother remembers you very well. He even recalls he has seen your wife before."

PETER (V.O.)

That was August, 31, 1985

when his brother and I were

called to the Bar in the same

batch. It was a happy day!

Peter types: "I was very delighted to hear that your brother remembers my wife."

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

My late wife's identity has

been, not just with me, but

in his mind too. That's how

one can live on...

END FLASHBACK

PETER (V.O.)

When I was still in my

teens, I began to develop

an interest in understanding

who I'm.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.)(Cont'd)

My education, work and life

experience ie my nurture

have influenced me a lot

as an individual.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.)(Cont'd)

Looking back, I evolved

and formed my own distinct

personality as who and what

I'm, from my teens to

around 40. And people who

know me can recognize me

inside out.

The speaker asks a question.

SPEAKER

Is there any international

lawyer here?

Peter raises his hand but the Speaker doesn't spot that.

SPEAKER (Cont'd)

In addition to national law,

a person's legal identify is

also governed by international

law...

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

The additional layer doesn't

explain, as law can deem

something that it is not!

SPEAKER (Cont'd)

And now, there's the cyber-

space. What is our cyber

identity? Who owns it?

The speaker shows a slide with the caption "Future of Identity". One bullet is "self-sovereign identity''

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

It's complex concept. I

couldn't recall what it

connotes.

Peter surfs the web with his phone. He sees "10 Principles of Self-sovereign Identity: 1 Existence, 2 Control, 3 Access, 4 Transparency, 5 Persistence, 6 Portability, 7 Interoperability, 8 Consent, 9 Minimization, 10 Protection.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

These are qualities. Self-

sovereign identity is a

core issue in blockchain

transactions.

INT. STUDY - NIGHT

Peter works on his computer. From his wallet, he takes out an identity card with a cut corner. He looks at the image on the card.

PETER (V.O.)

I've been persistent in

keeping her identity card

since 19 August, 1992. Our

relationship is sovereign in

a different sense... She's

forever young and hasn't

lost her identity.

Peter looks at his image in the wall mirror. .

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

I look different now. But

the Peter in me is just as

true as before. She can

recognize me, and so are

the others. I'm the person

I call "I"!

FADE OUT. The End


bottom of page