top of page

All Good Things


FADE IN:

.

EXT. MALL - DAY

PETER walks towards food stalls.

PETER (V.O.)

An urge for some Japanese

food? Oh, I've returned from

Hokkaido for a fortnight now.

It was a great experience to

see snow sculptures...

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

I was particularly struck by the

result of the Sapporo Snow-

sculpture contest, Thailand

succeeded in defending her

championship. I envied Thai

tourists posing in front of the

sculpture.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Well done to Macao too!

Got the 1st runner-up,

ahead of China - the 2nd

runner-up. Both Thailand

and Macao never snow.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O,) (Cont'd)

Taiwan didn't take part in

part in the contest, but it

had a tall and wide ice

sculpture depicting Taiwan's

tallest mountain which may

see snowfall.

.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Except tourists like me, Hong

Kong's presence was not

felt. Can't limitation drive

creativity? The successes

of Thailand and Macao

speak for themselves.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

When I was young, I used

to make toys out of rubbish...

I only had my first airplane

experience at the age of 26.

And I only had my first

experience in the Snow

festivals in 2019.

Pausing.

PETER(V.O.)(Cont'd)

But how about Thailand

and Macao? Perhaps we

don't treasure creative art?

FLASHBACK

EXT. ODORI PARK - DAY (FEB 12, 2019)

A few PEOPLE including Peter, stand outside a restricted area. Bulldozers in a distance are at work, demolishing the giant snow sculptures and platforms.

PETER(V.O.)(Cont'd)

Like me, they look sad to see

the demise of the beautiful

sculptures. Last night, they're

still worshiped by thousands

of eyes.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

The workers have a job to do.

The demolition work is neither

a happening art or nor an

artful installation although it

creates thoughts and emotions

in us in a negative and ugly

way!

END FLASHBACK

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

All good things must come to

an end or they wouldn't be

good!

Peter grabs a sashimi rice bowl and pays at the cashier.

INT. TRAIN CAR - NIGHT

Standing, Peter is in thoughts.

PETER (V.O.)

Should I learn how to make

a snow sculpture?

Peter researches with his phone and looks surprised.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

Oh my god! It takes a team

and dozens hours of intellectual

effort to make just a contest

item!

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

All the more I appreciate the

snow/ice art forms that I've

seen in Hokkaido.

Pausing.

PETER (V.O.) (Cont'd)

No wonder why Sapporo has

2 million regular visitors during

its annual Snow Festival!

INT. STUDY - NIGHT

Working on his computer, Peter takes a deep look of the feature photo of his blog post.

PETER (V.O.)

What I've captured is now

gone...

FADE OUT. The End

bottom of page