top of page

Give Life A Go


(Photo: Lily Cheung 2018)

While I was still in my dreams, a friend shared a photo (depicting a person on a bridge watching the scenery is being watched), and a new poetry called "斷章" ("An Extract"). I responded with my simpler one entitled "取義" ("Getting the Message"): "橋景妳我,自陳相對;月好夢圓,互相裝飾。"

To add years to life through exercising should be everybody's goal and my main physical exercise has been swimming. The lengths that I have swum are measurable whenever I swim in standard-size swimming pools. "Let me exceed my 850m benchmark today." I thought, and then made 1000m!

My sister, Lily, and brother-in-law, Louis, are enjoying their Silk Road trip, sharing photos including the Forts of the Xuanbi Great Wall at Jiayuguan. In the middle of nowhere, Lily called me today, saying: "Brother, I've climbed the forts - way outside my comfort zone!" I felt her excitement and delight.

Although nearly every day is a friend's birthday anniversary, the present period could be the best time in human history to be alive. And in the end, what counts is not how many years one has lived, but whether one has put a stamp on the future. Do treasure the opportunity and time, and give life a go!

bottom of page