top of page

"Love At 1st Sight"


"Do you believe in love at first sight?" I can testify to that as I fell for the "Magic Islet" having just seen a photo of it. On July 14, 2017, I decided to turn the background music for the "Magic Islet" into a tri-lingual song and to add other Oshigaki footage into a new music video. Very quickly, the theme "Love At 1st Sight" came up to my mind.

As I was composing the lyrics in the morning, a few bars of music also came up to my mind. Rather than disrupting the structure of the original music composition, I used them as the Introduction and Ending of the song. But when I began to record them in the afternoon, I had lost quite a part of the melody!

As to the actual composing of the tri-lingual lyrics, I began by filling in the 16-bar verses with Mandarin lyrics. Then I filled in the first 16-bar chorus with English lyrics, and another 16-bar chorus with spoken Cantonese lyrics. The tag line "Love At First Sight" appeared in Mandarin, English and spoken Cantonese.

As I was recording the song, I modified the melody and the lyrics a bit to make them sound better. I also improved a bit of my guitar playing and singing as more takes were done. Although the 1-minute 30-second music video "Love At 1st Sight" could only be published in the late evening, I was glad that I made it!

bottom of page