top of page

Ocean Of Love


When it rains, I would not complain but would think of it as life-giving. Planets are generally just too dry to be habitable. When the Earth was young and hot, it rained for millions of years to cool down before forming streams, rivers, seas, oceans, and us.

As a US Government International Visitor in 2007, I had a full month in April-May to get to know the US in all directions. Having first seen the lights in Washington DC and New York, I found myself in the hands of an apparently successful entrepreneur in South Carolina. I began to compare first hand the perception, practices and culture between the North and the South within the US.

The pragmatic entrepreneur had a small leisure boat. During our day cruising via a Charleston bay for a coastal picnic, I learned more about the mindset of southerners. I was surprised that despite conflicts were age-old, their grievances towards northerners did not go away.

Out of the blue, the risk-taking entrepreneur suggested: "Let's explore the Atlantic Ocean!" while I was curious about the Ocean's look and feel right down at the sea level. There, I felt very strongly, not only the energy and movements around me, but my insignificance. I also feared that a tiny welcoming gesture of the inviting Ocean could be translated into waves meters high!

If humans as multi-cellular beings have organisms living within their bodies, self-regulating oceans house humans and other living things. While humans, whatever their statures, come and go quickly, the oceans will continue to live for billions of years. The transient human life on Earth should be good, just live it with Ocean of love!

bottom of page