top of page

Intensive Intellectual Activities


In 2000, while I was relaxing in an European airport lounge, the headnote of a business report caught my eyes. It was about the single most important factor that impacted on any country's economic well being. A Swiss consultant's study revealed that it had a lot to do with the people's willingness to engage in intensive intellectual activities.

The knowledge quality, in my view, can be validated by the fact that anything that is unique, original, new, inventive or being sought after, is the result of intensive intellectual activities. And such result can be protected by intellectual property in one form or another, from trade secrets to trade marks. As a great majority of countries subscribe to the intellectual property system, the private intangible property right reflects the prevailing international morality.

I shared the knowledge that might not be made explicit with the audience at an annual dinner function of a knowledge management society in Hong Kong on June 15, 2017. I also held the ancient and moral value that knowledge sharing could bring global common good. I did not violate any modern day copyright law either, as I communicated only the idea and did not copy or distribute any unlicensed copyright materials belonging to others.

Any idea that has been originally fixed in any material or digital form eg texts, photos or videos over the Internet is almost always protected by copyright internationally. As engagement in intensive intellectual activities is hard, it is easy and tempting to infringe others' copyright. I have been trying to showcase myself to determined copyright infringers that if I can be creative to become a copyright owner, so can them!

bottom of page