top of page

Dreaming My Life Away?


While we are inside an aircraft, would the cabin become our temporal and spatial world and we need not be concerned if the aircraft is on the ground or in the air? Are we not taking a pragmatic way in conceptualizing things and people, their relationships and ourselves? The appearance we perceive with our senses can misrepresent the independent reality.

The challenge is how can we distinguish appearance from reality? Do we begin to doubt external matters when they do not correspond to what we perceive? If the external matters correspond to our ideas as in a dreamy state of consciousness, would we doubt?

I would doubt when the environment I am in has become too tough as I wish them to be untrue. Recently, I got a third party verification of my clear and distinctive experience as well : "It's real!" - in one of my nightmares! Could the reality as we perceive and know it, be just a dream?

It is logically possible that we are dreaming our "real" experience, like perceiving the aircraft cabin as our world, irrespective of whether the aircraft is flying or stationing in the external world. However, common sense in our waking life suggests that there is an external world. But what if I did not "wake" up (literally as in a coma, or figuratively as being unconcerned or unrealistic), would I be dreaming my life away?

bottom of page