top of page

"Happy May"


On the morning of May 22, 2017, I wanted to compose a theme song that I would play after delivering my guest lectures at Beijing University next week. It did not take long for me to get the melody, but I only got a line of the lyrics. So I decided to do some casual research, hoping to get some inspiration in the process.

To my disappointment, I discovered that there was already a song with the exact title that I had in mind. As the melody was not bad, I thought I had better recorded it first, using the harmonica as the lead instrument. I also played the guitar fingering and got an acceptable version in the third take.

My next thought was to add video clips that would match with the audio mood. I was in Osaka in mid May and had a very nice multi-sensory experience. I therefore added those video clips as the visual and produced the music video entitled "Happy May".

In the sub-titles, I inserted my common law trademarks to evidence their use and indicate my areas of interest and services. "Happy May" therefore embodies sounds, sights, smells, tastes and touches. It also manifests creativity, digital marketing and intellectual property!

bottom of page